We had time today to explore some of the grounds of Haigh Park. We will have a busy weekend without moving anywhere. Claire and Jason are arriving later this evening to spend the weekend with us, so we went to check out the car parking. It will be lovely to catch up with them as we haven’t seen them since their wedding. Also our friends Carol and Tony are popping over to see us tomorrow as well. With a stroke of luck the hall has an event on Sunday, a 3 course carvery with ambience music from a guest pianist, which works out great as it is Ian’s birthday.
Haigh Hall Lodge
An ornate footbridge to the Hall
The grounds are full of masses of rhododendrons
Haigh Hall, built in 1827. Formerly owned by the Earl of Crawford, sold in 1947 to Wigan Council